What Are The 7 Elements Of Design?

The seven elements of art are line, shape, space, value, form, texture, and color.

These elements are the building blocks, or ingredients, of art.

A line is a mark made on a surface.

A shape is a flat area of enclosed space.

What are the 7 elements of interior design?

Professional interior designers will usually follow a set of informal “rules”, based on specific interior design principles and elements. These interior design elements include space, line, forms, light, colour, texture and pattern; and keeping them balanced is the key to creating an aesthetically pleasing interior.

What are the 8 principles of design?

The elements, or principles, of visual design include Contrast, Balance, Emphasis, Movement, White Space, Proportion, Hierarchy, Repetition, Rhythm, Pattern, Unity, and Variety. These principles of design work together to create something that is aesthetically pleasing and optimizes the user experience.

What are the 7 elements of art used for?

Line, color, shape, form, value, space, and texture are the seven core elements of art and they often overlap and inform one another. Whether talking about drawing, painting, sculpture, or design, these components of art all need to be taken into consideration.

What are the 9 principles of design?

In summary, the principles of art are:

  • balance.
  • proportion.
  • emphasis.
  • variety.
  • movement.
  • rhythm.
  • harmony.

What are the 3 types of lighting?

There are three basic types of lighting you should layer in a room in order to accomplish this: Ambient or general lighting. Accent lighting. Task lighting.

How do I start my own interior design home?

10 Clever Interior Design Tricks to Transform Your Home

  1. Paint smaller rooms in softer, lighter colors to help make the room feel larger.
  2. Use decorative mirrors to add instant light to your living space.
  3. Mix it up.
  4. Slip into something a little more comfortable!
  5. Wicker baskets.
  6. Add a hanging pot holder to your kitchen.
  7. Go green.
  8. Paint or wallpaper your bookcases.

What are the 10 elements of design?

10 Basic Elements of Design

  • Line. The first and most basic element of design is that of the line.
  • Color. Save.
  • Shape. Shapes, geometric or organic, add interest.
  • Space. Negative space is one of the most commonly underutilized and misunderstood aspects of designing for the page.
  • Texture.
  • Typography.
  • Scale (Size)
  • Dominance and Emphasis.

What are the 7 elements of graphic design?

Getting Acquainted with the 7 Elements of Graphic Design

  1. Lines. Lines are used as roadmaps to direct the viewer’s eye movements.
  2. Shape. Shapes can be geometric, abstract, stylized or as they occur in nature.
  3. Texture. Texture is a powerful graphic design tool used to enhance design with details necessary for creating visual impact.
  4. Space.
  5. Size.
  6. Value.
  7. Color.

What are the six main principles of design?

Answer: the 6 fundamental principles of design which are: balance, proximity, alignment, repetition, contrast and space. Lets look at what each does. The elements and principles of design are the building blocks.

What are the 7 different forms of art?

Seven arts may refer to:

  • The traditional subdivision of the Arts, being Architecture, Sculpture, Painting, Literature, Music, Performing, and Film.
  • The Seven Liberal Arts, being grammar, logic, rhetoric, arithmetic, geometry, music, and astronomy.
  • The Seven Arts, an artistic magazine.

What are the 10 principles of art?

The posters visually convey each of ten select core values, including balance, hierarchy, pattern, rhythm, space, proportion, emphasis, movement, contrast, and unity.

What are the 7 contemporary art forms?


  1. The traditional subdivision of the Arts, being Architecture, Sculpture, Painting, Literature, Music, Performing and Film.
  2. The Seven Liberal Arts, being grammar, logic, rhetoric, arithmetic, geometry, music and astronomy.
  3. The Seven Lively Arts, an American anthology series.